Martin Selected for Executive Committee of Chesapeake Bay Commission

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania– Senator Scott Martin (R-13) has been selected as a member of the tri-state Chesapeake Bay Commission’s Executive Committee for 2022.  Martin’s district includes southern Lancaster County, part of an area identified as “Tier 1” for action under the Commonwealth’s plan to reduce nutrient and sediment pollution to the Bay.

Martin has been a member of the 21-member Commission since 2019.  The Executive Committee is comprised of two members from each of the Commission’s three Delegations representing Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia.  He will serve on the Executive Committee with Pennsylvania Representative Keith Gillespie (R- 47), who will be a Vice Chair of the full Commission.  The 2022 Commission Chair is Maryland Senator Sarah Elfreth (D-30).

“The Chesapeake Bay Commission has a long history of pursuing bi-partisan and results-oriented policies, and I am honored to be part of its leadership team,” said Martin.  “In my time on the Commission I have learned a great deal from my Maryland and Virginia colleagues about why they are passionate about the Bay, and they have also learned why Pennsylvania is committed to an approach that focuses on our own local rivers and streams.  Clean water benefits us all.” 

The Chesapeake Bay Commission is a policy leader in the restoration of the Chesapeake Bay. As a tri-state legislative body that advises the legislative branch of state government, its mission is to identify critical environmental needs, evaluate public concerns, and ensure state and Federal actions to sustain the living resources of the Chesapeake Bay. The Commission works directly with the state general assemblies and the U.S. Congress and is the only representative of the legislative branch within the Chesapeake Bay Program.


CONTACT: Terry Trego, 717-787-6535

Back to Top