Senate Panel Approves Martin’s Resolution Calling for End of Clock Changing


HARRISBURG – The Senate State Government Committee approved a resolution today that calls for daylight saving time to made permanent in order to eliminate the twice-yearly time changes, according to the resolution’s sponsor, Senator Scott Martin (R-13).

Senate Resolution 36 urges Congress to make daylight saving time permanent. Studies show that the twice-a-year time change results in more accidents, health problems and a loss of productivity of more than $400 million annually.

“We continue to change the clocks twice a year for no good reason. It does more harm than good to the health and welfare of our citizens,” Martin said. “Permanent daylight saving time would provide more hours of daylight in the evening, when families spend most of their time together.  I am hopeful that Congress will take action to end this ritual very soon.”

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, 14 states have enacted legislation in support of this concept over the last three years and so far in 2021, at least 28 states have considered 64 pieces of legislation addressing daylight saving time.

Daylight saving time began as an energy-saving measure in World War I and was made permanent for most states in 1966 with passage of the Uniform Time Act.

Eliminating the transition between standard time and daylight saving time would require action at the federal level. Arizona and Hawaii are currently exempt from time changes resulting from daylight saving time, while exemptions from standard time have been proposed in Maine, Massachusetts and Florida.

CONTACT: Terry Trego (717) 787-6535

Back to Top