Martin Reappointed to Chesapeake Bay Commission

HARRISBURG – Senator Scott Martin (R-13) has been reappointed to serve on Pennsylvania’s delegation to the Chesapeake Bay Commission for the 2021-22 Legislative Session.

The Chesapeake Bay Commission is a tri-state legislative panel created in 1980 to advise members of Congress and the General Assemblies of Maryland, Virginia and Pennsylvania on issues concerning the Chesapeake Bay and its watershed.

As a member of the commission over the past two years, Martin has prioritized new resources to help local farmers reduce run-off pollution. This includes the creation of the Conservation Excellence Grant Program and the REAP tax credit program to support better water quality, both locally and throughout the Chesapeake Bay watershed.

“Reducing pollution in the Chesapeake Bay watershed requires a strong partnership between state, local and federal governments, and I appreciate the chance to continue to play a leading role in finding new ways to approach this challenge,” Martin said. “Meeting the federal government’s pollution reduction mandates is going to be difficult and expensive. We need to work together to find ways to reduce pollution without asking state taxpayers to commit billions of new dollars in taxes and spending.”

More information about the Chesapeake Bay Commission is available online at


CONTACT: Terry Trego (717) 787-6535

Back to Top