Senate Resolution Honors Penn State Wrestling Team’s 2019 Championship


HARRISBURG – The Senate approved a resolution today honoring the Penn State wrestling team for winning its eighth Division I National Wrestling Team Championship in the past nine years, according to the resolution’s authors, Senator Scott Martin (R-13) and Senate Majority Leader Jake Corman (R-34).

The resolution recognizes head coach Cael Sanderson, who has coached 23 individual champions, and wrestlers Jason Nolf, Bo Nickal and Anthony Cassar, who won individual NCAA titles in their respective weight classes.

Wrestlers Vincenzo Joseph and Mark Hall placed second in their respective weight classes in the NCAA tournament. All five of the wrestlers earned the distinction of All-American for the year and were amongst seven total All-Americans on the PSU roster.

The team also exemplified strong academic excellence, being awarded its fifth consecutive NCAA Public Recognition Award for exemplifying outstanding scores in this past year’s Academic Progress Rate compilation.



Terry Trego (717) 787-6535 (Senator Martin)

Jenn Kocher (717) 787-1377 (Senator Corman)

Back to Top